Professional Standards

Professional Standards Bureau

The Professional Standards Bureau was formed in February 2023.

The Deputy Chief of Professional Standards oversees the KPD Internal Affairs Unit, and is primarily responsible for reviewing and evaluating the KPD’s policies, practices, procedures and training to ensure those are consistent with the nationwide best practices.

Deputy Chief of Professional Standards

Bruce Guyton

Retired Federal Judge H. Bruce Guyton joined the Knoxville Police Department’s executive leadership team as the Interim Deputy Chief of Professional Standards in July 2023.

Judge Guyton was selected as the full-time Deputy Chief of Professional Standards in May, 2024.

Prior to joining the KPD, Judge Guyton served as a United States Magistrate Judge in the Eastern District of Tennessee for nearly 20 years until he retired from that post in early 2022. Prior to that, he was a founding partner of local law firm Woolf, McClane, Bright, Allen & Carpenter, PLLC. One of his primary areas of concentration was discrimination and employment law. 

Judge Guyton graduated from Rhodes College as well as the University of Virginia School of Law.

Lieutenant Will Wilson

Lieutenant Will Wilson joined the Knoxville Police Department in November 1994.   He was promoted to sergeant in 2003 and lieutenant in 2020.  He has spent his entire career in the Field Operations / Patrol Division, serving in all geographic areas of Knoxville.  He has held assignments that include patrol officer, supervising a small unit focused on neighborhood complaints and street crimes, acting a liaison with the public housing authority, and supervising patrol squads.  He has supervised various special teams and is a graduate of the Southeast Command and Leadership Academy.  His most recent positions were serving as executive officer for the West District and then the Central District  He was recognized as Officer of the Month on three occasion, received the PD’s Lifesaving Award in 2002, and was the department’s Officer of the Year in 1999 and 2007.